Once colonization is completely finished, the entire substrate will be covered in mycelium. You can optionally add 20% straw to your mix for better air exchange and a higher speed of colonization. Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. Of all the factors involved in trying to maximize yield, choosing agood producing commercial strainis probably the most important. Thanks in advance for your help Regards Thiru Jack. Growing Mushrooms From Mycelium- [6 Simple steps to learn the process], With this method creating an honey liquid culture is pretty simple if you are using the correct, If you are an absolute beginner I would advise starting with brown rice flour and following a method similar to one I posted on, How to Grow Lions Mane Mushroom [In a Jar]. Is 2kg of mushrooms from 15kg substrate any good in 1st flush? The most important thing is that you spawn at the correct ratios, which is 1 pound of spawn (sawdust or grain) for every 5 to 20 pounds of straw. So if we consider 500-kilo grams as average yield per crop for 9 crops it will be 9 x 500 4 500. I recommend one of these three ratios: 1:1 Spawn to Bulk Substrate. Straw isnt very nutritious, so its not well suited for all varieties of mushrooms. You may find that the yield for your mushrooms can vary wildly between flushes, which are why using the total yield is a better indicator of performance. The average price per pound for specialty mushrooms received by growers, at $2.77, was down $0.27 from the previous season. Different strain of king oyster (Pleurotus eryngii) respond differently depending on the substrate used for cultivation, supplements and environmental factors. Then add one pound of water. For larger operations, use a 55-gallon drum and a butane burner. How To Sterilize Mushroom Substrate Without A Pressure Cooker. Oat straw. Supplementation is usually achieved by adding bran to the substrate, typically wheat bran or oat bran. Is that dry weight or wet weigh